05 May 2012

Amgen Tour of California schedule of TV coverage

2012 NBC TV race coverage and Tour Tracker
If you cannot attend a stage of the 2012 Amgen Tour of California, you can still watch the race LIVE at home. Your have two choices: watch the TV coverage on NBC Sports Network and NBC Sports; or watch it live online at the Amgen Tour of California website FREE via Tour Tracker or by downloading the Tour Tracker app for iOS or Android devices.

Before the stage race begins next week, tomorrow Sunday May 6th, NBC is hosting a TV preview show highlighting all 8 stages of the race scheduled for May13-20, 2012 (route). Visit California, a major sponsor of the race, is sponsoring this Nissan Preview Show, airing at 1PM PDT/2PM MST/4PM EDT (Live!).

*Timelines (log, time table) of all stages of the 2012 Amgen Tour of California may be found on this page: Spectator Guide Amgen Tour of California

TV COVERAGE of the race
NBC Sports Network - TV schedule of race coverage of Amgen Tour of California
NBC Sports Network
SUNDAY, MAY 6 
NISSAN PREVIEW SHOW PRESENTED BY VISIT CALIFORNIA 
1PM PDT/4PM EDT (LIVE) 
- - - 
SUNDAY, MAY 13 
SANTA ROSA 
2PM PDT/5PM EDT (LIVE) 
MONDAY, MAY 14 
SAN FRANCISCO TO SANTA CRUZ COUNTY 
2PM PDT/5PM EDT (LIVE) 
TUESDAY, MAY 15 
SAN JOSE TO LIVERMORE 
2PM PDT/5PM EDT (LIVE) 
 WEDNESDAY, MAY 16 
SONORA TO CLOVIS 
2PM PDT/5PM EDT (LIVE) 
THURSDAY, MAY 17 
BAKERSFIELD 
2PM PDT/5PM EDT (LIVE) 
FRIDAY, MAY 18 
PALMDALE TO BIG BEAR LAKE 
2PM PDT/5PM EDT (LIVE) 
SATURDAY, MAY 19 
ONTARIO TO MT. BALDY 
4PM PDT/7PM EDT 
NBC - TV schedule of race coverage of Amgen Tour of California
NBC Sports Network 
SUNDAY, MAY 20
BEVERLY HILLS TO LOS ANGELES (L.A. LIVE)
10AM PDT/1PM EDT (LIVE)

TOUR TRACKER 

If you intend to watch the race coverage online, the big news for 2012 is that RadioShack (sponsor of the RadioShack Nissan Trek team) will be providing Tour Tracker FREE to all fans. Use Tour Tracker every day to watch live coverage of the last 2 hours of the stage (with a pause and rewind feature). Enjoy typical Tour Tracker features including overall standings, route maps, profiles, gaps, break aways, and which riders are where out on the course. (You may follow the entire stage by GPS and live text coverage.)

If you miss the live coverage because of work or family commitments, no problem, visit Tour Tracker any time of day to view video highlights. They will also provide a gallery of still photographs. Tour Tracker is not yet live on the Amgen Tour of California website, but you will be able to go to the website www.amgentourofcalifornia.com next week and select the race-live tab. Download Tour Tracker Amgen Tour of California app for Apple iTunes. iPad gadget. Android app.

Also read: Watching the Tour of California Live

WHO WATCHES CYCLING
Two days ago The Inner Ring (cycling blog) wrote a very interesting informative piece on the demographics of, and differentiating between, the cycling fan and the cycling audience (Cycling Fans Versus The Mass Market Audience By Inrng.com). Please give it a read; of particular interest is his statement, "Do you know who the biggest watchers of bike races are in France, Spain, Belgium, Italy and Switzerland? The over-60s. And the second largest component of the audience? Women aged 35-55." That would be me!
I am so excited because for a long time I have known that there are plenty of people who watch bike races as arm chair travelers. That is much of the intent of Pedal Dancer™ - to help viewers understand what they are seeing while taking them on a journey. No matter your age or gender, I am eternally grateful to every single fan who turns on their TVs as well as those who show up at races to watch. Because the sponsors like you, the teams need sponsors, the riders need teams - it is the circle of life - see how important you are!
THE BEAUTY OF CYCLING
Now having said that, please watch the NBC sports network's preview show on the Tour of California, but do not get turned-off by the fact that the Individual Time Trial in 2012 will be located in Bakersfield. I know, it is impossible to top beautiful quaint Solvang as the traditional home of the Time Trial, but remember, although Bakersfield, California was recently named the most polluted city in the United States for 2012, there are many other beautiful things to see at a time trial stage. You will be delighted with colorful fans, a fun expo Lifestyle Festival area, team cars and buses, the most beautiful bikes in the world, plus some pretty beautiful athletes as well.
Now to share a few images I had yet to post from last year's 2011 Amgen Tour of California Individual Time Trial in Solvang, CA. Below are images of the typical mood and scene at a time trial. Please come enjoy the fun, I will be there. Or watch at home, television viewers are just as good for this sport. Please notice the team sponsors and give them your support.

Images from 2011 Solvang Time Trial Tour of California

A very friendly town  ©Photo by PedalDancer.com
Morning coffee at our favorite Bulldog Cafe   http://bookloftsolvang.com/Bulldog-Cafe.html
The time time starting gate  ©Photo by PedalDancer.com
Watch the riders prepare  ©Photo by PedalDancer.com
Johan Vansummeren ready to race    ©Photo by PedalDancer.com
Bernie Eisel and Nick Nuyens waiting just behind the start ramp  ©Photo by PedalDancer.com
Riders warming up before their individual race  ©Photo by PedalDancer.com
Chris Froome   ©Photo by PedalDancer.com
Nick Nuyens signing an autograph   ©Photo by PedalDancer.com
Lucas Sebastian Haedo takes a photo with fans  ©Photo by PedalDancer.com
Peter Sagan   ©Photo by PedalDancer.com
Jacob and Andy Schleck   ©Photo by PedalDancer.com
Johan Vansummeren  ©Photo by PedalDancer.com
Chris Horner at the start ramp ©Photo by PedalDancer.com
The Fans  ©Photo by PedalDancer.com
For more images and stories from the day: 
Related Links:

The Pedal Dancer Guide Page: TOUR OF CALIFORNIA and more information for 2012: