12 May 2016

List of Riders Amgen Tour of California 2016

The Riders - a complete list of competitors

The rider startlist and bib numbers have been finalized and made available by ProCyclingStats.com, a day after quite a different startlist was released by Amgen Tour of California media personnel. Whomever starts on Sunday morning is now committed to ride their way to Sacramento (no more changing the roster!).

The official 2016 startlist of riders (rider roster, squads) has not yet been released by organizers of the Amgen Tour of California, but I got impatient because I am headed to the race tomorrow. However on the ProCyclingStats.com startlist of riders you can click on each name and see a photo of the rider and their palmares (the career race history), a great way to get familiar with who will be racing at the Tour of California.

​Through reading news reports and rider twitter accounts (some are already in California training pre race), I can add to the list of riders who will be racing in California at the 2016 Amgen Tour of California this week. ATOC typically leaves the announcement of the startlists until just before the start as teams formalize their squads having recovered from recent illnesses or races.

Team rider startlists

There will be a thrilling list of riders to compete in California this week. Tom Boonen is coming to California!! Julian Allaphilippe will be returning in 2016, he won the best young rider jersey in 2015 and won the stage to Mt Baldy. Peter Sagan is coming back with his teammate and brother Juraj Sagan. Mark Cavendish and Bradely Wiggins will both return in 2016. Team BMC has an action packed team, their red jerseys should be a frequent sight on the podium.

I am super excited to see Tom Boonen and Mark Renshaw race again and am looking forward to watching the other powerful sprinters including Mark Cavendish (Dimension Data), Peter Sagan (Tinkoff), Alexander Kristoff (Katusha), John Degenkolb (Giant-Alpecin), Tyler Farrar (Dimension Data), Ben Swift (SKY), John Degenkolb (Giant-Alpecin), Niccolo Bonifazio (Trek-Segafredo), Bryan Coquard (Direct Energie), Dylan Groenewegen (LottoNL-Jumbo), Brad Huff (Rally), Rob Britton (Rally), Robin Carpenter (Holowesko-Citadel), Wouter Wippert (Cannondale), Travis McCabe (Holowesko-Citadel), and John Murphy (UHC).

Because I am a huge fan of the Spring Classics I will be like a giddy fan to see Greg van Avermaet, John Degenkolb, Alexander Kristoff, Zdenek Stybar and Tom Boonen in California. I wouldn't be able to get anywhere near them in Belgium; which also stands true for Mark Cavendish and Bradley Wiggins. I also look forward to watching the young Axeon Hagens Berman team and observing the French riders on Team Direct Energie enjoy their time in California. Although 'enjoy' is a loose term once they experience the tough level of competition in this tour.

Recommended Read: Preview: What you need to know about the 2016 Amgen Tour of California, by Neal Rogers. Who writes, "Sagan returns to the race that he’s done every year since 2010, along the way compiling a total of 13 stage wins (a record),five points jerseys (a record), one best young rider’s competition (2010), and one overall victory." "Mark Cavendish (Dimension Data), a nine-time California stage winner and two-time points classification winner."

Pedal Dancer Race Preview for 2016 Tour of California on TourChaser.com: tourchaser.com/race-preview-atoc

FULL  STARTLIST - 2016 Amgen Tour of California, 144 riders to compete:* to be updated with bib numbers after the official announcement of the ATOC startlist. 

1 Sagan, Peter
2 Baška, Erik
3 Blythe, Adam
4 Gatto, Oscar
5 Gogl, Michael
6 Kolar, Michael
7 Sagan, Juraj
8 Trusov, Nikolay

Etixx - Quick Step
11 Allaphilippe, Julian
12 Boonen, Tom
13 Bouet, Maxime
14 Maes, Nikolas
15 Richeze, Ariel Maximilliano
16 Stybar, Zdenek
17 Vakoc, Petr
18 Velitz, Martin

Team Sky
21 Kennaugh, Peter
22 Fenn, Andrew
23 Kiyrienka, Vasil
24 Moscon, Gianni
25 Nordhaug, Lars Petter
26 Peters, Alex
27 van Poppel, Danny
28 Zandio, Xabier

Dimension Data
31 Cavendish, Mark
32 Brammeier, Matthew
33 Eisel, Bernhard
34 Farrar, Tyler 
35 Nathan Haas
36 Janse van Rensburg, Jacques
37 Renshaw, Mark
38 Teklehaimanot, Daniel

Team Katusha
41 Kristoff, Alexander
42 Guarnieri, Jacopo
43 Haller, Marco
44 Isaychev, Vladimir
45 Machado, Tiago
46 Mørkøv, Michael
47 Restrepo, Jhonatan
48 van den Broeck, Jurgen

BMC Racing Team
51 Bookwalter, Brent
52 Dennis, Rohan
53 Drucker,Jean-Pierre
54 Phinney, Taylor
55 Sánchez, Samuel
56 Schar, Michael
57 Van Avermaet, Greg
58 Wyss, Danilo

Team Wiggins
61 Wiggins, Bradley
62 Christian, Mark
63 Doull, Owain
64 Kelly, Jake
65 Latham, Christopher
66 Patten, Daniel
67 Tennant, Andrew
68 Thompson, Michael

Cannondale Pro Cycling Team
71 Talansky, Andrew
72 Bevin, Patrick
73 Craddock, Lawson
74 Gaimon, Phillip
75 King, Benjamin
76 Marangoni, Alan
77 Skujiņš, Toms
78 Wippert, Wouter

Trek - Segafredo
81 Stetina, Peter
82 Arredondo, Julián David
83 Bernard, Julien
84 Bonifazio, Niccolo
85 Irizar, Markel
86 Reijnen, Kiel
87 Stuyven, Jasper
88 Zubeldia, Haimar

Direct Energie
91 Coquard, Bryan
92 Anderson, Ryan
93 Duchesne, Antoine
95 Nauleau, Bryan
96 Petit, Adrien
97 Sicard, Romain
98 Tulik, Angelo

Team Giant - Alpecin
101 Degenkolb, John
102 Kragh Andersen, Søren
103 Curvers, Roy
104 de Kort, Koen
105 Sinkeldam, Ramon
106 Fairly, Caleb
107 Skjøstad Lunke, Sindre
108 ten Dam, Laurens

Team LottoNL - Jumbo
111 Groenewegen, Dylan
112 Bennett, George
113 Roosen, Timo
114 Teunissen, Mike
115 van Widen, Dennis
116 Vermeulen, Alexey
117 Wagner, Robert
118 Wynants, Maarten

UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling Team
121 Brajkovic, Janez
122 Canolo, Mario
123 Clarke, Jonathan
124 Eaton, Daniel
125 Jaramillo, Daniel Alexander
126 Jones, Christopher
127 Murphy, John,
128 Putt, Tanner

Axeon Hagens Berman (U23 team)
131 Geoghegan Hart, Tao
132 Barta, Will
133 Curran, Geoffrey
134 Daniel, Greg
135 Guerreiro, Ruben
136 Neilands, Krists
137 Owen, Logan
138 Powless, Nielson

Jelly Belly p/b Maxxis
141 Morton, Lachlan David
142 Cheyne, Jordan 
143 Morton, Angus
144 Putt, Chris
145 Rathe, Jacob
146 Sheehan, Michael
147 Sheldon, Taylor
148 Wolfe, Ben

Holowesko-Citadel Racing Team
151 Carpenter, Robin
152 Clark, Oscar
153 Flaksis, Andzs
154 Hornbeck, Jonathan
155 Krasilnikau, Andrei
156 Lewis, Joe
157 Squire, Rob
158 McCabe, Travis

Team Novo Nordisk
161 Clancy, Stephen
162 Henttala, Joonas
163 Lozano, David
164 Megias Leal, Javier
165 Peron, Andrea
166 Planet, Charles
167 Verschoor, Martijn
168 Williams, Christopher

Rally Cycling
171 Anthony, Jesse
172 Britton, Rob
173 De Vos, Adam
174 Huffman, Evan
175 Nalo, Patrick
176 Oronte, Emerson
177 Pate, Danny
178 Routley, Will

All of these riders will be racing again in 2016: (All Photos ©Photo by Karen Rakestraw of Pedal Dancer®)

American Brent Bookwalter (BMC).
Latvian Tom Skujins (Cannondale).  
From the U.K. (Isle of Man) Mark Cavendish (now with Dimension Data). 
Australian Rohan Dennis (BMC).
American Tyler Farrar (Dimension Data). 
Slovakian Peter Sagan (Tinkoff). 
American Taylor Phinney (BMC).
American Lawson Craddock (now with Cannondale).
American Logan Owen (Axeon Hagens Berman).
Mark Renshaw (now with Dimension Data).

Julian Allaphilippe (Etixx-Quickstep).

Laurens ten Dam (now with Giant-Alpecin).


It is tradition that the previous year's overall stage winner, if returning to the race in the current year, wear the #1 jersey. His team being recognized as the first team, thus wear #1-8. The other teams are ordered according to race organizers preference, eighteen teams total with eight riders each. At the Tour of California, as is usual, you will see the ProTour teams listed on the roster before the Pro Continental or Continental teams.

Peter Sagan will wear #1 on his jersey at the Tour of California. He will be racing hard in 2016 to wear #1 again in 2017.

More Pedal Dancer® race coverage 2016: