11 July 2015

Stage 8 TDF: Field Art and a GC Climb

Race Faces on a Test Climb

The entire packed seemed to have their grimaced race face on as we hit the brief, steep slope of the Mûr-de-Bretagne today. The wide road gave an exciting panoramic of not only the top in GC, but every rider, as color filled the road barrier to barrier. Then one light jockey-like racer from the Jura rode away from them all to win his career making stage of le Tour.

Life changing stage win at the Tour de France for Alexis Vuillermoz
Alexis Vuillermoz crossed the line 0:00:05 seconds ahead of Dan Martin. Cannondale-Garmin Pro Cycling team and BMC brought all hands to the front just miles before, sparking the age-old debate of whether a team risks blowing up their rider's too early, sacrificing all (especially one day before the team team trial - gasp) for the good of one. Many thought them the fools, it almost worked.

In the end no one can climb like those semi-obscure small frenchmen. Of course no one is actually obscure in this grand race. The majority of riders are local or national champions, even those who are not, like Vuillermoz, are well-known in their hometowns with a legion of family and friends behind them in full support. Winning a stage of the Tour de France is a dream that becomes a reality for only a few.

Test Climb results

Now we have an idea who has a chance at standing on the podium of this race; considering Contador is still recovering from the Giro and is building form toward the final weeks while hoping to survive unscathed through week one.

Where the GC came across the line on Stage 8:

1 Alexis Vuillermoz (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale 4:20:55
3 Alejandro Valverde (Spa) Movistar Team 0:00:10
5 Tony Gallopin (Fra) Lotto Soudal
8 Christopher Froome (GBr) Team Sky
9 Bauke Mollema (Ned) Trek Factory Racing
10 Tejay Van Garderen (USA) BMC Racing Team
12 Joaquim Rodriguez (Spa) Team Katusha
13 Warren Barguil (Fra) Team Giant-Alpecin
14 Alberto Contador (Spa) Tinkoff-Saxo
15 Rigoberto Uran (Col) Etixx - Quick-Step
17 Nairo Quintana (Col) Movistar Team
18 Julien Simon (Fra) Cofidis, Solutions Credits
19 Robert Gesink (Ned) Team LottoNL-Jumbo
20 Pierre Rolland (Fra) Team Europcar
23 Simon Yates (GBr) Orica GreenEdge
24 Jean-Christophe Peraud (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale
25 Mathias Frank (Swi) IAM Cycling
29 Haimar Zubeldia (Spa) Trek Factory Racing
30 Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Astana Pro Team 00:00:20
31 Andrew Talansky (USA) Cannondale-Garmin Pro Cycling Team
32 Thibaut Pinot (Fra) FDJ.fr

Peter Sagan moved into Green!

Peter now wears the white and green classification jerseys, all while riding for his team leader Alberto Contador.

Stage 8 Results

Stage Win

1Alexis Vuillermoz (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale4:20:55
2Daniel Martin (Irl) Cannondale-Garmin Pro Cycling Team0:00:05
3Alejandro Valverde (Spa) Movistar Team0:00:10

GC Standings

1Christopher Froome (GBr) Team Sky31:01:56
2Peter Sagan (Svk) Tinkoff-Saxo0:00:11
3Tejay Van Garderen (USA) BMC Racing Team0:00:13
4Tony Gallopin (Fra) Lotto Soudal0:00:26
5Greg Van Avermaet (Bel) BMC Racing Team0:00:28
6Rigoberto Uran (Col) Etixx - Quick-Step0:00:34
7Alberto Contador (Spa) Tinkoff-Saxo0:00:36
8Warren Barguil (Fra) Team Giant-Alpecin0:01:07
9Zdenek Stybar (Cze) Etixx - Quick-Step0:01:15
10Bauke Mollema (Ned) Trek Factory Racing0:01:32
11Robert Gesink (Ned) Team LottoNL-Jumbo0:01:39
12Alejandro Valverde (Spa) Movistar Team0:01:47
13Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Astana Pro Team0:01:48
  • Yellow Jersey: Chris Froome
  • Green Jersey: Peter Sagan
  • Polka-dot Jersey: Daniel Teklehaimanot
  • White Jersey: Peter Sagan
  • Combative: Bartosz Huzarski (Pol) Bora-Argon 18
  • Best Team: BMC
  • Lanterne Rouge: Michael Matthews (Aus) Orica GreenEdge (behind by 1:02:14)
  • 185 riders remain of 198 starters on Stage 1
  • Luca Paolini (Ita) Team Katusha did not start the stage (doping)

Stage 9 preview 

The exciting and general classification changing team time trial is tomorrow. Don't imagine the usual fluid fast time trial, this TTT comes on day 9, is short, hilly and technical. It will be an incredible challenge for most teams to carry the mandatory five riders to the line (time is based on the fifth man). The last section is hard. We will see entire teams passing lone riders out on course left behind by their team.
  • Start order: Start order of teams for team time trial
  • Most teams expected to ride for 32-34 minutes. 
  • 12 teams will start with a full squad of nine riders.  
  • Orica-GreenEdge team only has five men remaining on their squad.
  • 30% time cut-off will result in a ticket home from the Tour de France.
  • Time based on 5th man
Start time of first team:  Start 15h00 (Local time)
Finish time of last team: 17:17 CET (7:17 AM CDT, 9:17 AM MDT)

Stage 9 Route Map

Stage 9 TTT route map Tour de France 2015
Stage 9 Profile Map

Stage 9 profile map 2015 Tour de France