22 June 2011

Who will be racing the Tour de France

Riders at the 2011 Tour de France - Team Rosters
The Grand Tour of the year begins on July 2, 2011, the Tour de France is back. Team rosters are being announced this week and Sporza has compiled an in the process roster list for 2011. So far the riders listed to be riding in the Tour de France this year may be conveniently viewed at this link: 22 ploegen in de Tour, maar wie rijdt nu mee (2011 Tour de France Team Roster)?  Each team is allowed only 9 riders. This remains a long list until the final rosters are announced. 
Official TDF team rosters have been announced by: Radioshack, Garmin-Cervelo, Quick Step, Euckaltel-Euskadi, Rabobank, BMC, Saxo-Bank Sunguard, Liquigas, Omega Pharma-Lotto, and Vancansoleil,
Remaining teams that have not yet announced their final lineup include the French teams of: Europcar,  FDJ, Saur-Sojasun, Ag2r-La Mondiale, Cofidis. And also Astana, HTC Highroad, Katjoesja, Lampre, Leopard Trek, and Team Sky.

Updated TDF roster list now on Steephill.TV 

To view a list of the national champions who are riding in the Tour de France in 2011 Tour de France Start List and Champions

Odds for the General Classification (GC) contenders are listed as:
Odds To Win 2011 Tour de France – Courtesy Of Bodog Sportsbook
Alberto Contador 8/13
Andy Schleck 2/1
Cadel Evans 25/1
Ivan Basso 25/1
Bradley Wiggins 28/1
Robert Gesink 28/1
Frank Schleck 33/1
Samuel Sanchez 33/1
Jurgen Van Den Broeck 50/1
Levi Leipheimer 50/1
Jani Brajkovic 66/1
Andrea Kloden 80/1
Christopher Horner 80/1
Roman Kreuziger 100/1
Alexander Vinokourov 125/1
Carlos Sastre 125/1
Ryder Hesjedal 125/1
Christian Vandevelde 150/1
Joaquin Rodriguez 150/1
Damiano Cunega 200/1
Edvald Boasson Hagen 200/1
Nicholas Roche 200/1
Peter Sagen 200/1

As a fan of cycling and especially the Tour de France, PedalDancer is most looking forward to watching my old favorites: Fabian Cancellara, Andy Schleck, Jens Voigt, Ivan Basso, Philippe Gilbert, Johan Vansumemren, Tom Boonen, Sylvain Chavenel, Manuel Quizniato, Bernhard Eisel, George Hincapie, Thomas Voeckler, Samuel Sanchez, Nicolas Roche, Jose Ivan Gutierrez, Allessandro Petacchi. Watching the tactics for 4 GC candidates on the Radioshack team: Horner, Kloden, Leipheimer, and Brajkovic. Plus the entire strong teams of Team Sky, HTC-Highroad, Garmin-Cervelo, and the Rabobank team.

I most look forward to a few surprises and those chance moments when the underdog wins.